NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety

Home / NEBOSH / NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety
The NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety is a globally relevant fire safety qualification which can help personnel learn and develop fire safety skills which can be applied anywhere in the world. On completion of the NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety pa... Read More

The NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety is a globally relevant fire safety qualification which can help personnel learn and develop fire safety skills which can be applied anywhere in the world.

On completion of the NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety participants will have the knowledge and skills to:
• Understand fire and explosion protection and prevention principles
• Carry out an effective fire risk assessment in a low to medium risk workplace.

• The course consists of 2 units:
FSC1: Fire Safety
FSC2: Fire Risk Assessment

The taught element of the course is 5 days with approximately 20 hours of private study and background reading required.

Assessment consists of an Open Book Exam (FSC1) and a practical fire risk assessment (FSC2) both of which are marked by NEBOSH.

More information on this NEBOSH qualification is available at  



What's covered?

Expand/Collapse Expand/Collapse

(April 2020 syllabus, V1 issued Jan 2021)

There are six elements in FSC1

The following gives a summary of the syllabus:
1. Managing fire safety
2. Principles of fire and explosion
3. Fuel, oxygen and ignition sources and control measures
4. Fire protection of buildings
5. Safety of people in the event of a fire
6. Fire safety risk assessment

Unit FSC2 Fire risk assessment (practical assessment)

Further information including the detailed course syllabus, is available on the NEBOSH Website.

Who should participate?

Expand/Collapse Expand/Collapse

• Those responsible for fire safety in low to medium risk workplaces
• Health and Safety Managers
• Facilities Managers
• Health and Safety Representatives within businesses.

This qualification is designed for anyone who has fire safety responsibilities in a small to medium sized organisation.

It provides the knowledge and understanding, when combined with relevant experience, to carry out an effective fire risk assessment, as well as embed good practice in the workplace.

It is important that learners have a suitable standard of English language in order to understand and articulate the concepts contained in the syllabus. NEBOSH recommends that learners undertaking this qualification should reach a minimum standard of English equivalent to an International English Language Testing System (IELTS) score of 6.0 or higher in IELTS tests.


What will I learn?

Expand/Collapse Expand/Collapse

On completion of the qualification, learners will be able to:

• Justify fire safety improvements using moral and financial arguments

• Advise how fires and explosions can occur and the appropriate controls to minimise fire and explosion risks

• Advise their employer on the requirements for the fire protection of premises and workers including the appropriate training obligation

• Carry out a fire risk assessment in their own workplace – prioritising risks, inspecting the workplace, recognising a range of common fire hazards, evaluating risks (taking account of current controls), recommending further control measures, planning actions.

Detailed information is available from the NEBOSH website



Who are the tutors?

Expand/Collapse Expand/Collapse

How will I be assessed?

Expand/Collapse Expand/Collapse


This qualification has a two-step assessment process which consists of:

An open book examination (FSC1): you will be able to complete this at home or in another safe and suitable location where you can concentrate. You will be presented with a scenario that describes a realistic workplace and situation. You will then be asked to carry out a series of tasks using evidence presented in the scenario as well as the underpinning knowledge you have gained through your studies and revision.
You will have 24 hours to complete and submit your paper - though you should be able to complete it in 4-5 hours.

A practical fire risk assessment (FSC2): the fire risk assessment has been developed around fire risk assessment standards such as the Home Office fire guidance and PAS79-1:2020.
The time needed to complete the fire risk assessment is not restricted. However, it is recommended that you take around three hours to complete all four parts of the assessment. It is felt that the three hours will allow you to show your understanding of the assessment requirements and complete a good quality fire risk assessment.
Both assessments will be marked by an external examiner appointed by NEBOSH. These examiners are chosen for their experience and expertise to ensure that learners are assessed by the very best from our industry.

Learners must achieve a ‘Pass’ in both units to be awarded the qualification.

The qualification grade is based only on the result from the open book examination (Unit FSC1). But delegates need to achieve a ‘Pass’ in both units (FSC1 and FSC2) before the parchment can be issued.

How do we train and support you?

Expand/Collapse Expand/Collapse

In-House Courses
For In-House courses, the tutor will contact you in advance to discuss the course programme in more detail.

Course Manual
Delegates will receive a set of very comprehensive course materials.

Programme accreditation

Expand/Collapse Expand/Collapse

The NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety has been accredited and credit rated by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) Accreditation. It sits in the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) at SCQF Level 6 with 5 SCQF credit points. SCQF Level 6 is comparable to RQF/CQFW Level 3 in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The Irish awarding bodies and qualifications authorities and the UK awarding and qualifications regulatory bodies undertook an exercise to facilitate the comparison of qualifications in the qualifications framework in the UK and Ireland. The document, Qualifications can cross boundaries - a rough guide to comparing qualifications in the UK and Ireland was published and compares SCQF Level 6 to Level 5 on the Irish National Framework of Qualifications. In addition, there is a recently launched European-wide website which supports this comparison of different national education systems.

Holders of the NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety are entitled to associate Membership (AIIRSM) of the International Institute of Risk and Safety Management (IIRSM).


Share this Programme


Course Code
5 training days
Delivery Mode
This programme is delivered virtually or face-to-face, and is available as In-Company training
stdClass Object
    [primary_category] => 
    [primary_slug] => 
    [categories_slugs] => Array
            [0] => nebosh-health-safety

    [parent_categories_slugs] => Array
            [0] => health-safety


NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety


NEBOSH Certificate in Fire Safety